Lyrical Pieces by Edvard Grieg

Written by

In the next few musical notes, I will share lyrical pieces by Norwegian composer Edvard Grieg (1843-1907). Born in Bergen, Norway, Grieg lived during the time when Norway was under the rule of the United Kingdom of Sweden and Norway. These two kingdoms were governed by one monarch but were peacefully separated in 1905. Grieg wrote 66 short pieces, etudes, he called them – lyrical pieces. They were published in ten volumes (books). You can listen to all of them here:

Over the next few notes we are going to explore several of them, starting today with Opus 47 No. 3, “Melodie.” I am going to share a variety of performances. Notice how they all sound different.

Article Categories:
Edvard Grieg

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *